Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In my country, young people have better lives than their parents had when they were young.

Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a good life means that one is satisfied with one's life. Numerous generations have passed since the advent of human civilization, and each generation had different lives. Some people argue that the current generation has a worse life than their parent’s generation. However, I personally agree with the statement aforementioned for two reasons: the advancement of technology and the proliferation of entertainment.

First and foremost, technology has been more advanced than ever before. To be specific, as people discovered and invented numerous useful tools, such as computers and smartphones, today‘s lives have become more convenient. For example, when my mom was a college student, the smartphone and internet weren't widespread yet. She had to spend a lot of time finding information for her assignments. On the contrary, there are various ways of gaining information, so I can swiftly finish my homework. As one can clearly see, the advancement of technology has contributed to a better life for the younger generation.

In addition, various cultural interactions within the current generation have also contributed to better lives for the young. In detail, new entertainments such as Netflix or Youtube provide young people with more leisure time as entertainment has a significant impact on the quality of one’s lives. An observational study held in 2018 at Seoul University had a survey where participants were asked of the most amusing activities in his/her life. The results showed that 74% of the respondents answered that they had their most amusing activities online. The researchers inferred this result was prevalent especially in the younger generation since many people are exposed to various forms of online entertainment nowadays. This undoubtedly proves that the increase of new cultural interactions from online entertainment has led the life of young people to be more enjoyable than their parents’ generation.

Admittedly, some could argue that the environment has been dramatically polluted for the last decade, and there are negative effects of new technology and entertainment to the current generation. However, due to the convenience of using new technologies and the amusement of various forms of entertainment, I strongly agree with the statement above that in my country, young people have better lives than their parents' young lives.