Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Each student has unique study methods to become proficient in what they learn. In fact , it is important that whatever learning strategy the student follows, it should be able to help him for future success. Many students probably try to learn just facts because they believe that it is the best method of study. In my opinion however, the successful learning method is to understand the basic ideas and concept rather than just focusing on mere facts due to a variety of reasons.

First of all, understanding ideas and concepts is important because it help students to compare and co-relate what they have learned, which is an easy strategy for quick learning. Learning just facts, on the other hand, is really difficult because human brain cannot hold much information, if they are not connected or related. For example, a student is trying to learn about human evolution. He can learn it easily if he tries to co-relate and understand the background, significance, impact and effects behind the evolution. In his brain everything will be properly sequenced by comparing and contrasting all ideas. On the contrary, if the student just focus on a single line fact that "human race evolved from chimpanzees" without even bothering about how and when and why it occurred, may easily forget everything he had read . This makes learning things more difficult and time consuming. Hence for easy and effective learning, the best way is to understand and relate ideas and concepts.

Secondly, for a bright future understanding the concepts and ideas is very important because the professional life is full of application of knowledge. Mere learning of facts, without knowing how to apply it will not help in a long run. For example, a student learned only facts and rules about computer programming in his college days. Latter, in his job he has to apply what he has learned to solve issues related to programming language issues. It is obvious that he will find difficulty in professional growth as he do not know how to deal with those issues. As a result, his professional growth will be stagnated. On the other hand, a successful software engineer is a student who focused mainly on understanding the software applications rather than mere facts of programming language. Hence, learning concepts and ideas makes your future colorful.

In conclusion, students should always try to learn concepts and ideas rather than just learning facts. Those students who learn only the facts not only struggle to memorize it but also lack the methods to apply it in future. Hence, learning and understanding concepts and ideas are recommended.