Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is often not a good thing for people to move to a new town or country because they lose their old friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of a doubt, friends play an integral role in everyone's life. The point here is to have good friends and also maintain the relationship. In this line of thought, while some people think it would be harmful to people to migrate or move to another city or country, it is my firm conviction that changing the place we live not only will not have any negative effect on our circle of friends, it will also enhance it. In what follows, I will elaborate on the rationale that my perspective is based on.

The first and foremost reason is that by moving to a new city, people will form new friendships with recently met people. Being in a new place enables persons to have some different opportunities to meet new people. As a generalization, when someone starts a new life in a place, he will absolutely get involved in new activities, which leads him to be in new groups. Take my own experience as a compelling example. About ten years ago, I left my original living city to start a new life in the capital. As a monumental change, I also began my studies in a university, which was full of people just with the same condition as me. Then I found a great number of new friends who, most of them, are still in contact with me. Hadn't I moved to a new city, I was not able to form those precious friendships.

The second vindicating reason that I should mention is that considering the newly emerged technology-based connecting tools, it is much easier to keep in contact with friends, even with those who are in distant places. To put it in other words, thanks to the technology, we use many applications that have facilitated the connection process. For instance, I use a cellphone software named Whatsapp, which offers online video chats. I used it to talk with my old friends any time I needed them. With these applications, rarely do I miss my fellows.

Furthermore, I should add that the transportation industry has made big progress in recent decades. Thus it is now plausible to go any places we want in a short time. The distance issue is not a problem anymore. Clearly, airplanes are amazingly fast, and that no one will ever lose a friend because of being in a faraway land.

To put it in a nutshell, I believe we will not lose our mates if we migrate to other towns. Obviously, it will even help us to make new friends, and because of the high development in technology and transportation, we will be able to sustain our relationships at an acceptable level.