Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is sometimes justified not to tell the truth.

I do not think that under any circumstances we are justified to hide the truth from those who are entitled to knowing it.

Firstly, if we hide all or part of the truth from someone, we are depriving them of the information that might be able to shape their future because they might make decisions based on incomplete information. This way, we have given ourselves the right to indirectly decide a person’s fate, which is unacceptable in any situation.

Secondly, from my personal experience, the more trust I put in other people and the more I show them the complete and bigger picture by telling the truth, the more they surprise me. There have been times in my life where I have thought that I know better and do not need to tell the person who was affected by the information. However, after telling them, I was rewarded with their understanding and compassion. For example, when my aunt died, I was informed by a friend that insufficient medical care by the hospital staff was to be blamed partially for her death. I was first hesitant to share this information with the rest of my family but when I finally did, they accepted what had happened and were able to reach closure. While before I told them, they were constantly wondering why this tragedy had happened when my aunt had a pretty simple condition when she went to the hospital.

Last but not least, while one is holding information from another person, they might be doing the same. What I mean is that we might know something and think that we know the whole story but another person, whom we are holding this truth from, might have another piece of information which they are holding from us. Therefore, if either of us makes a decision, it will be based on incomplete information. While sharing the things we know and letting them know the part of the truth we are aware of might cause them the share as well. This way, we will see a more complete picture and will be able to make better decisions together.

All things considered, I think that we must learn to trust others and always give them the whole truth. I believe, by doing so, we will over time be rewarded with other people’s trust and they will be willing to always tell the truth as well.