Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

I agree with the second point of view.

For one, college is not mandatory so it would be pointless to make attending classes a requirement. It seems obvious to me that anyone bothering to go to a college is aware of what they are doing it for and making them take classes, even the ones they do not find educating, would be a waste of their time. On the other hand, leaving it up to the students to decide which classes they participate in and which courses they want to use other resources for, would open up more pleasant and productive learning opportunities.

Another reason I do not like the idea of obligatory college classes is because it can be tough to keep up with them. A college class is a one size fits all type of a scenario while there are different people in the same class, sometimes with very different learning styles, learning speeds, and knowledge backgrounds. Therefore, only a little portion of the class would fit the profile and the rest would either lag behind or be limited by its progression speed. However, this could easily be resolved by probiding a syllabus and a loose, non-mandatory guideline for the students and letting them move their education forward however fits them the most.

The last issue that arises from forcing every student to attend each and every class is that the ones who are just their because of necessity would be distracting to other students and might disrupt the normal function of the class. In my experience, those who are not there for the education, due to any reason, tend to engage in other activities during class, from reading irrelevant books to chatting with their classmates and even napping during the class. These can be very distracting for the students who want to just focus on the course and absorb as much infromation as possible. These issues can mostly be avoided however, by leaving it to the students whether they attend their classes or not.

All in all, I believe college classes are an essential and inseparable part of higher education but must not be forced upon the students who cannot benefit from them.