Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

The time we spend in universities, is the most important periods of our lives. Universities will help us to learn new things an prepare us for our future career. Nonetheless, it becomes heatedly debated topic whether a student should be required to attend classes. Some people may hold the opinion that the universities student should be required to attend classes, however, others may have a negative attitude. If I were forced to agree with one of the two positions, I would stand behind the former. My arguments for this point are as follows.

First, there are many subjects that are difficult to understand by your own. Lectures and detailed explanation are imperative for the better understanding of hard subjects. For example, few years ago, when I was studying dentistry in Egypt, I remember that I have encountered a very difficult chapter in chemistry. It was about acid-base equations. No matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t comprehend how these equations are supposed to be used. So, I decided that I will attend the classes, and there, I found the professor very professional in delivering those equations, he drew some diagrams, discussed recent studies and researches and gave us home-works to do at home. Moreover, he was more than welcoming in his free-time, if any of the students is having a hard time understanding any topic in chemistry. After I had attended all of the chemistry classes, I was not only able to understand the that chapter but also whole subject. Furthermore, I helped my friends whom had hard time comprehending any topic in chemistry. In fact, that experience taught me a lot about the importance of attending lectures.

Second, when students are attending their classes, they will improve their interaction skills. Communication abilities and corporation abilities are very important not only in their students’ lives but also in their future career. For instance, when I was in my high school. Our social studies teacher had opened a discussion about different cultures. He required each of to talk about his culture. When it was turn, I was not able to say a single word, he was very understanding, and gave me some time to thing. Meanwhile, one of my Indian class-mate was able to talk about his food, different religions and customs. After I had listened to many of the classmates, I was able to talk about min. I talked about my Arabic food, wedding and dancing traditions. As you can see, classes can tremendously improve students’ skills.

In sum, though some people may oppose my opinion that students should be required to attend classes, others may not. Students will not only understand difficult subjects but also will improver their interaction skills. Every universities should require its students to attend classes for their own sake.