Public transportation versus roads and highways.

When trying to allocate government funds for transportation infrastructure, there is always the argument for spending money on roads versus public transport. Some people argue that making better roads that cover more cities is the way to do it. However, I disagree and strongly believe that most of the resources should be spent on public transport.

First off, most commutes are done inside cities and having higher quality roads and highways will not improve the people's experience who shuttle every day from home to work and vice versa. By pouring more resources into purchasing more comfortable trains and more extensive subways, everyday lives of citizens will be enhanced much more deeply than it would with better roads. The money spent on roads, which will be sitting idle and unused most of the time, will be somewhat wasted and it can be put to much better use in the public transportation system.

The second reason why I hold this opinion is that having an advanced public transportation system will encourage more people to use it. The overall condition of the public transportation system is usually abysmal in most cities and this hinders its adaptation as the main means of transportation for many people. Having a more accessible and comfortable public transportation system will add to its appeal and attract more users which will lead to savings for the people who use it. Also, fewer private vehicles will result in improvements to the environment due to the decrease in pollution.

Last but not least, most people traveling between cities, often take airplanes which are mainly owned by the private section. Air travel has become so affordable during the past few decades that it has made itself the main means of inter-city travel. Most people prefer flights to road trips. This means that the roads and highways constructed by the government will not affect the majority of inter-city travels.

All in all, I think nowadays the public transportation system is far more important than the roads network in a country. Therefore, the government must pay more attention to the trains and subways than it does to roads. This attention includes the time spent on planning new strategies and also the amount of funds and resources spent on improving the general condition of the transportation system and the amenities provided to those who use it throughout the country.