Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The knowledge we gain from personal experiences is more valuable than the knowledge we gain from books Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Do not use memorized examples

It is undeniable to say that knowledge is substantial in any field of life and knowledgeable people can survive anywhere in the world. On that ground, knowledge can be acquired either from books or from own experience. In this regard, some people contend that personal experience gives an opportunity to obtain precious knowledge. On the other hand, there are some people who think that people can get the best knowledge from academic books. Certainly, from my vantage point, the former point carries more weight. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples justifying my stance.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that although the ideal way to learn knowledge is from a book, it is judicious to combine practical experience with actual theory. This is because books solely provide information but do not guide about how to apply that in life, conversely, learning through own experience gives an accurate and clear image in the mind. Drawing from my own example to shed light on what has been elaborated above. I had a close friend named Sahil, with whom I studied at the dental university. He was very proficient in all academic subjects while I was an average student. In fact, when he started treating dental patients, he was struggling to treat them. However, since I had done an internship before my graduation, it became easier for me to complete all treatments meticulously. Hence, this example clearly indicates that personal experience carries more weight in life.

Another noteworthy point is that books are not always accurate and often contradict what we find in the real world due to the fact that books are often written by unqualified authors who might represent their biased views in the books. Even if a diligent trainer writes a book with the best of intentions and tries to avoid factual errors, his research might be faulty as a major shift in world affairs. My own experience visiting Egypt is a compelling example of this. Before I took a trip, I have tried to gather information about the place, and thereby, I read various articles, guide books, and textbooks in order for better understanding of the place. According to that Egypt was a conservative place and suggested that people there might be unwelcoming. But when I actually arrived there, I encountered a very welcoming and modern culture. Though the books I consulted were a few years back, they did not match my personal experience. Evidently, this example demonstrates some of the problems with depending too much on books for our knowledge.

Lastly, the knowledge which we gain from personal experience stays longer time in our mind than which we gain from reading. In real life, books are frequently put away in storage after reading them and memories gradually wear off with time. For instance, I have read hundreds of books during my university days. Unfortunately, I can remember hardly from those books. In contrast, similarly, I attended a college graduation ceremony around the same year and I still have very vivid memories of each and every event that took place on that day. Thus, it is merely to say practical experience lasts longer in life.

All in all, by contemplating all remarks, I personally believe that knowledge gained from events is more beneficial than reading books. This is because it is not a wise idea to depend only on books as they might carry inaccurate information, and because our personal memories stay with us longer than facts we read in print.