Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Leadership comes naturally: one can not learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I strongly disagree with that statement, and I believe that everyone can learn to be a leader, although it depends on various situations and conditions. I hold this opinion because of several reasons. First, I think leadership is not a hierarchical process and it does not come naturally, instead, individuals can be a leader based on their interests, demands, and abilities. Second, leadership itself contains various types and we should basically identify what kind of leadership we are going to obtain, whether political leadership or leadership in tiny communities such as groups in school or even more basic ones.

According to my point of view, leadership is not inherited by certain process or hierarchy and it does not come naturally. In other words, which distinguishes between a leader and an ordinary person is not based on genetic or genealogy. It is clear that what differentiate between a leader and others is meritocracy, which means being prior and pioneer in particular things based on one's capability and competence. Besides, leadership requires specific properties and characteristics which does not come naturally and without effort and struggle. One of the criterion of a leader is ability of management. Leader should be able to administrate and manage different situations during difficulties and problems and he should put himself in various circumstances in order to get experiences and skills to deal with the problems during crisis and dilemma.

Moreover, by leadership, at first we should recognize the different types of leadership and we should know that we talk about which kind of leadership, because it has manifold properties. For instance, a political leader in certain community such as country, should be capable of handling his country in different aspects, also he should be popular among his people to govern them efficiently and influence them by his theories and beliefs.

In general, it seems to me that leadership does not come naturally, contrarily, one's should do efforts and struggles to obtain leadership based on his experience and knowledge and ability.