Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, the consumerism has a prominent role in world’s trading system. Every day, different types of commodities are being produced and enter markets for customers. Some people believe that advertisements illustrate the real quality of products; while others hold precisely the opposite perspective. I firmly believe that companies attract customers by their highly-cost commercials, instead of improving their products’ modality.

Firstly, one of the crucial factors in economy is return on investment (ROI), ratio between net income and investment, which most of the new companies use unrealistic advertising to entice customers to purchase their products in order to increase their ROI. Besides, these commercials use attention grabbing words or provocative pictures to gain more profits. For instance, one of the beauty products’ companies in Iran, their commodities’ modalities were below average, used unreliable ads which contained manipulative tricks for engross customers; within a short-term they acquired high ROI which helped their financial stability. Nowadays, companies with brainwashing ads control large-scale markets, while their products are not worth buying.

Secondly, most of the people are materialistic which resulting in buying unnecessary unqualified products. Furthermore, this group of people are target audiences for companies’ advertisements which use psychological methods to lure them to purchasing their goods. According to a study, low-priced products that are apparent in most of the ads use one of the most manipulative factors that is price. In fact, the ads insist that although the product has a high quality but it has a fair price. Generally speaking, price is a major option for most of the people which lead companies manufacture low quality goods.

Lastly, there is no doubt that there are some commercials which advertise justly. Nevertheless, there are companies that respect their customers and their main goal is to keep them satisfied as their permanent customers. A vivid example, one of the famous chocolate companies in Iran, named Baraka, had kept their quality over the years, despite the inflation in Iran, they never tried to trick people through ads. Anyway, people would always choose a good brand through experiences. Although, commercials have a major role in people’s choices, but quality always outweigh the provocative advertisements.

In conclusion, there are several factors that influence on companies’ sale, obviously advertisements are important part of their sale but people always seek for quality, which they should keep in mind as their main goal.