Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today’s progressive world where we live, every individual is provided with diverse assortments of products being advertised through the media in order to have a convenient life. There exist a controversial debate among people that marketers and advertisers use strategies to exaggerate the quality of their product and make them look better than they really are. Personally speaking, I firmly believe that advertisements are an avenue to make the products a shining look and a better quality rather than exposing them in the way they really are. In what follows, the reasons to substantiate my point of view are presented.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that in the twenty first century the buying demands of customers have dramatically increased which in turn have led to an enhancement of various products among which people can select one or two easily and conveniently. In this line of thought, marketers take advantage of different types of strategies to advertise their products in order to intrigue people to buy and prioritize their product. Unfortunately, the economical thought of the marketers makes them turn a blind eye on people’s actual wants and demands; therefore, advertisements provide them a way to tempt people to buy a product which might not be as high-quality as they are being advertised. To put it in a more vivid picture, for more than two years, a commercial about “GLX cell-phone” has been broadcasting on mass media, advertising how perfect, inexpensive and convenient the product is. This advertisement was repeated over and over on television while I was watching my favorite TV show and made me believe about the quality of the product. Unfortunately, when I bought the product, nothing was in the same direction as it was shown in the advertisement. Not only was the phone very heavy and inconvenient, but also it was more expensive than a competitor product. They way marketers advertise their products will blur people’s critical thinking and they can be easily defrauded by the commercials.

Furthermore, the new strategy being used by marketers is that they are inclined to publicize their products by the help of celebrities. Nowadays, people consider celebrities and famous people like actresses, actors, football players or even celebrated entrepreneurs as their role mode. In this vein, they will imitate the likes and dislikes of their favorite celebrities; this is when the intelligent marketers take advantage and employ some famous people to advertise the product. As long as the famous, trustable people are advertising the product, people will not even consider the possibility of being misled by them. For instance, when Mosavi-the famous Iranian volleyball player-advertised a shampoo for a company which was not even well-known, people started buying the item just for the sake of their favorite player. It is not surprising that after using the shampoo and getting damaged hair, because of the poor quality of the product, not only people mistrusted the specific company and all of its products, but also the illusion of their favorite player shattered.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons into account, I firmly believe that most of the products being advertised do not have high quality as they publicize it. Marketers prioritize their own benefit and do not care about the customers; moreover they hire celebrities to even highlight the importance of their items.