Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

By and large, news and media has recently become the focus of the increased attention across the globe. It is owing to the fact that news play a vital role in people's lives as they can improve their awareness of their surroundings. Some people believe that pursuing new by people whose views are close to them is a better approach while other people holds the opposite idea. Personally speaking, I think chasing opposite views is more important, and in the ensuing lines, I will delve to substantiate my point.

The first reason is that reading and watching news from opposite views help people to be objective. As people with the same mind sets gather together, they usually endorse each other and augment views they held which lead them to be biased. Hence, they cannot think and act unbiased that could hurt them by making irrational decisions with severe ramifications. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was working at an investment company, I was responsible for buying and selling stocks. As I read and follow limited channels that had a same views to my own, seldom did I watch another channels that held another view. After a while, I made a horrible mistake in my investment, which was really a naive investment. Hadn't I ignore the other channels, I would have made a better decision and gain a lot of profit instead.

Second, by chasing contrary news, people can challenge the strength of their current views. If people read and watch restricted news, they will never have a chance to correct and improve their views. Seeing news challenging people current views, provide them the opportunity to examine their assumptions and inferences which lead them to be in the right position. For example, we have to political parties in our country having opposite views about a plethora of issues. As my parents, followed the Right party, I followed them too. We just saw and talked about our party and our achievements, until one of my friends demanded our views and caused I learn to think out of the box after that.

In summary, all the aforementioned reasons bring us to the conclusion that following news provided by opposite views is a superior options. Not only does it help people to be more objective, but also they can test their assumptions and grounds.