TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There is no doubt that universities and colleges play a vital role in modern society through several manners such as improving science, teaching required industrial abilities, and soaring social skills. Hence supporting these organizations is necessary for all communities. A question can be raised in this regard that is what type of activities in universities and colleges should be supported more. One viewpoint is that because sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries, they should have an equal financial budget and treat the same financially. I agree with this idea and in the ensuing lines, I will delve into 2 reasons to substantiate this point.

The first reason coming to mind is that students who graduate from universities and colleges must be prepared for handling their own life and problems and need some other skills, not just a futile knowledge. Sports and social activities can provide students enough ability to deal with a wide range of situations by doing teamwork tasks, communicating with others and facing new challenges in their life. Take, for instance, the student contributing to holding an event can learn important things about financial, logistic and hospitality aspects of an event which are useful and somehow necessary for individual life and future career.

The second reason is that having sports and social activities help students study better and get higher scores in their courses. Physical activities are vital for doing intelligence activities and student should have opportunities and facilities to do sports to have a good health. For instance, if a student just studies and doesn’t have another activity, s/he will soon get depressed and tired and the temper to argue with everybody. But by being in social events and sports activities, students can share their feelings, listen to other’s experiences and see himself in a group which makes him feel more confident and more energetic.

The third reason which deserves elaboration is that sports and social activities provide a better university life for students. Having social activities and sports make it easier for students to know each other and be friends. Academic environment usually brings a competition situation between students and it is harder to be a close friend with others rather than social events or sports plays where people look for friends and have fun. Doing these activities let students help each other in issues regarding different challenges such as studying and personal matters. Having a good relationship with another student also has a great value for students after their graduation where they can help each other in their careers and businesses.

In summary, all the aforementioned ideas bring us to the conclusion that sports and social activates needs the same attention and financial support like classes and libraries because they are complementary of each other and necessary for having a successful experience during and after the university and college. Thus, let us hope that universities take this issue more seriously.