Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, we are continuously bombarded with commercials through all communication media. Whether those advertisements are honest in the quality of the product that they are trying to sell us or they overvalue them, though, is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with the idea that the norm is that advertisements make the product look better. this position is based on two main reasons that will be analyzed thoroughly below.

Firstly, the size and other qualities are improved to show the product more desirable. that manipulation awakens the necessity to acquire it in potential consumers. For example, it is common to see banners and flyers with sandwiches that are clearly modified. An convincing example of this practice, was a situation that I lived with my son John last weekend at McDonald’s. On the wall near to the front door, there was a LED sign promoting a new pork sandwich. it seemed so appealing that was almost impossible not to notice it. Immediately, it caught my son’s attention and he wanted one of those. To make a long history short, when the order was ready, the difference was so notable that he began to cry, owingto he wanted one of those promoted in the sign, not this one. As a result, I had to spend almost an hour to convincing him that what had happened.

Secondly, the companies focus only on permeate the market with advertisement, not in the accuracy of the content of them. The competition and the desire of increasing their sales make the companies to exaggerate the feature of their commodities. A classic example of this are cars commercials. I remember one ram Ford publicity where the truck crosses a river with the water near to the window. that it a clear overestimation, but it works by creating a positive impression on possible buyers. Furthermore, not only the commercial was broadcast even 10 minutes and the picture of the ram in the middle of the river was posted around the city, but also they made memes that become tending topic in all social media. As a result, the number of sales reaches outstanding levels.

In summation, I am of the opinion that the publicity amplify the product characteristics deliberately. this is with the aim to make the product more attractive, and enhance their profits. Due to that, my advice is that you shoudn’t trust advertisements too much. If you are interested in some product find information in order to make a satisfactory decision.