Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements makes product seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisement is a technique use to companies to attract people to but their products and it depends upon oneself to decide if that is right for him or not. Personally, if I have been asked I believe that it is true that more advertisement makes product look better. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, advertisement is the easiest medium to convince a person to buy a specific product which will lead to company’s financial gains. These days everyone has easy access to mobiles, televisions and other electronic gadgets which are used as first medium to show consumers about a product. Next, we have billboards, advertising at entrance or exit of free ways to influence people as part of their explicit and implicit memory to remember their product. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Few days back, when I was planning to buy a couch as part of thanksgiving sales, I started surfing internet to find a good one within my budget. After that, every time I opened Facebook or accessed any site on internet I started to see ads regarding different couch companies all over ads sections of those sites. As, a result, my mind was influenced by seeing those ads again and again from that specific company that I considered it as the best option and went ahead with that. This clearly depicts that if couch company would not have shown me that many times the ad for the same couch, I might have gone with a different one.

Secondly, companies are spending a lot of funds these days on advertisements as they know that everyone is surrounded with any type of ad every time. They show the ads many times a day to make sure that we have an image about that product every time. More we see an advertisement, more we think about it, and finally we decide that it is the best product in the market. For instance, my sister, who works as a marketing analyst, in one of the leading company revealed that they have proper strategic teams which decides the timings when an advertisement will appear on any of the electronic medium or placement of the ad at any physical location. They make sure that they target correct audience at correct time to increase the sales. In addition, she suggested that each advertisement, is made in specific format so that if people see them again and again it can create a positive impact on audience’s minds and not bore them being shown repeatedly many time a day. This clearly depicts that if people are shown ads for any of the product again and again at the correct time and place they start having an opinion that this product is the best one.

Thirdly, with each advertisement shown a number of times, we start talking about that product with our friends and colleagues, which indirectly, increase company’s sales and promotions. For instance, when I see an ad numerous times a day, I use it as a topic to talk about during my lunch or coffee breaks with my colleagues and that provides a free advertisement to those companies.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that more advertisements makes product look better. This is because advertisement is the easiest medium to convince a person, and because everyone is surrounded with any type of ad every time.