Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the influence of media on people especially kids and adolescents. Some people may hold the view that watching movies is one of the most entertaining things to do; However, others believe that its is a waste of time and it has cons way more than pros.

In my opinion, movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

First, media content is full of violence which have huge impact on kids. For example, when I was at the age of eight, I watched a movie with my family in the evening in which a man killed a lady while she was having her shower. I still remember that scene and I couldn't sleep for days after I watched that movie. Also, I spent years scared to close the curtains in the bathroom, as I imagined that there might be someone hiding behind it. I know it was just a movie, but children have wide imagination and they get easily affected by what they see or hear. A friend my mine told me about her five year old boy; she was complaining that he is too violent and stubborn,and his friends don't like playing with him as he gets irritated quickly and may hit someone or call people with bad names. Later, she discovered that he was imitating a cruel cartoon character that he watched on a TV series. Unfortunately, parents don't have enough control or a too busy to filter what their kids watch.

Second, media have harmful effects on kids' brains. I guess we all agree that media kills creativity in kids. I have read a study, that was published in 2014,which compared students' grades in different schools and the results were surprising. It was found that the results seventy percent of the kids who spend a lot of time playing on iPad or watching television are much less than their colleagues whom parents made restrictions on media access. That makes sense as they have less time to study and their brains are really affected by what they watch. In my opinion, it is like they cause a kind of mental retardation to kids. That's why parents have to do more effort watching over their kids and finding alternatives to TV, cell phones and iPad such as: playing sports, reading books, painting, watching education programs and other activities that may help their children grow to have good minds and bodies. I would like to emphasize the importance that parents should be careful when choosing what to watch and how to spend their time, in order to be good role models for their kids.

To wrap it up, parents should bare in my mind the powerful effects movies have on their kids and do their best to protect them from such harm.