Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history entertainment media plays an important role in all civilized societies. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration in order to examine its constructive and destructive facets of this matter. Some people may hold the view that movies and television programs have a positive impact of young people behaviors. In the meantime; some others may take an opposite view point and believe that this kind of media has a negative effect on young people. From my vantage point, I believe that the former viewpoint generally carries more weight. In what follows I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that television programs including movies, documentaries, and etc. are made to increase the knowledge and information of people especially young people. In fact, these programs usually are made in way to indirectly affect people behaviors and in some case correct their wrong social behaviors. A vivid example which can be given to shed light on the subject is social documentaries that is shown at night on television. In each episode, the program addresses improper behavior of young people in a variety of situations such as in college, in sports complex, or even in the parks. At the end of the program, a social analyzer discuss the episode in detail. Consequently, young people nurture indirectly by watching that program.

In approaching this issue, apart from what mentioned above, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. Media is an assistive and beneficial tool for parents who wants to nurture their young children. Actually, young children are resistive to parental control and advices due to their specific age ranges. In this period, young children wants to show that they are mature and independent. So, they do not listen to their parents. Hence, movies and television can aid parents. For example, family members can ga¬¬ther to watch a TV show or a movie and augment their relationships. Consequently, they can interact to each other and find a mutual way of speaking. Eventually, young people will be more flexible toward their parent’s speech.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, there are by no means the only reasons available. A noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistics reveals by a recent research conducted in our country showed that television and movies have a positive impact on young people. The research study has conducted between young people from the same age group in ten hundred colleges in the country. They select this broad area in order to diminish the effect of cultural differences. The results showed that the students who watch movies and televisions regularly are more aware of their behavior and try to assess themselves and behave properly.

In the final analysis, according to what was mentioned in the body paragraphs above, on cannot deny the fact that the aforementioned topic is a controversial matter of discussion which must be elaborately addressed in order to precisely examine. However, there is authentic evidence which can lead us to this conclusion that media such as television and movies can play a pivotal role in young people behaviors. It can shape their character mostly in positive way.