Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One can learn a lot about a person from the type of

friends the person has.

Needless to say, social reality has made human relationships more complex than in earlier times. As a result, people may spend considerable time to know more about others, such as their personalities and life experiences. Some people concern that people are independent individual, thus it is unrealistic to get any useful information about others from the kinds of friend they have. Others may consider that people who share the common ground can easily get along with each other, which means that we can know a lot about others through what kind of people their friends are. From my perspective, I am in favor of the later statement.

Admittedly, the vast majority of people may believe that people cannot be identified through the type of their friends since they are independent. They concern that it is abrupt to judge a person from his friend’s behavior or habits. For example, if a person with great integrity has a friend who is a criminal, it is unfair to regard him as a criminal since he has never committed a crime. They believe that we should evaluate an unfamiliar person by his own life story and personalities rather than through his friend’s. Therefore, all of the aforementioned reasons can illustrate why some people think people can not be learn about through his friends.

However, I oppose their statement since they neglect the fact that people can be strongly affected by their friends, especially when they have spent numerous time with each other. For instance, at the beginning of this year, a lurid scandal swiftly became the hot-discussed topics among people. A Korean celebrity named Zheng JunYing was accused of rape and drug deal and he admitted his crime soon. Several day later, one of his best friend, the one who was regarded as the most upright and merciful actor, was also indicted for the similar guilt. At first, everyone was reluctant to believe in the news since that men seemed so kind that it seemed unlikely for him to do such disgusting thing. However, it turned out to be true and he acknowledged that he was influenced by his friend. Therefore, no matter what a person supposed to be, his friend will exert a strong impact on his own behavior and habits, more or less.

What’s more, there is every reason to believe that people with the similar interests find it easier to become friends, To quote a well-known proverb, “ birds of a feather flock together.” One of the major elements that sustain excellent human relations lies in extensive communication between people. In most cases, having a similar interest provides a good topic for discussion. As the two are familiar with it, an in-depth talk is more than likely. During the course of exchanging ideas, much can be gained and mutual understanding can be strengthened as well. In a sense, it paves the way for establishing stable friendship. Therefore, with the purpose of making friends, many people prefer to attend various groups and clubs. It is in such places that the closest friend might be made. Take myself as an example, I encountered my best friend when we participated in an activity organized by the literature in my university. Due to the common passion for classical literature, we had much to share and finally we became intimate friends.

To sum, although some people may concern that people cannot be known about from the kinds of their friends, I definitely believe that we can gain much information about a person through his friend’s interests, hobbies and temperament since it is these factors that engender their friendship and people can strongly affect each other.