Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on whether younger people appreciate the opinions of celebrities more than the older people. Personally, I am of the opinion that opinions of celebrities have more impact on younger people. I think of this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, children are more likely to be influenced by others. Obviously, since younger people spend most of their life in school, they do not have enough experience to tell what is an appropriate behavior, but just following the fashion which are lead by the celebrities, while older people who have been trained by the reality for a long time are prone to hold their own minds. For example, when I was in high school, more than half of my classmates dressed or had their hair cut following their favorite movie stars, and some even imitated how they talked. This demonstrates that how easily children can be impacted by opinions they received.

Secondly, younger people have limited source to see the real world. The most common way for them to know the society is from the internet or television, where is usually occupied by opinions and news about celebrities. With all the information infused in mind, children are more likely to be impacted by opinions of celebrities. This is best demonstrated by a study conducted by Peking University which is a top ranked university in China. The result shows that more than 50% of the news on the internet is about celebrities, and the readers of those new are mostly younger people at age between 10 to 30. As we can see, how limited information are available for younger people.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that younger people are prone to be influenced by opinions of celebrities. This is because children do not have enough experience to prevent being affected by others and because they are surrounded with information about celebrities.