Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate as to whether teachers are still appreciated and valued as before. In my opinion, I definitely believe that teachers were more respected in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, the importance of the teacher as a source of knowledge for students has declined nowadays. Teachers used to be the most significant source for students to acquire knowledge, but with the development of technology, it has become much easier for students to search unknown information through internet. For example, before the internet if students got difficulty in understanding a topic in his science class he had to go to the teacher and ask for an explanation. While nowadays, he could simply search for the answers through the internet where he might find even more detailed information that could assist him to understand the subject better. Consequently, there is no need for him to go to the science teacher any more.Therefore teachers are not valued by the society as they were.

Secondly, the attractiveness of teacher as a career has also receded. The teacher used to be a sacred job, because they were well paid and were sincerely respected by the students. However, currently many other professionals such as businessmen, accountants or engineers earn much more than teachers.This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. When my parents choose college after graduating from high school, they and their peers were prone to study school of education, because a teacher was an promising career at that time of period. In contrast, as it was my turn, my parents urged me to select high technology related majors. As we can see, teacher as a career is not as fascinating as the past.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that the significance of teachers in the society has declined nowadays. This is because their prestige as a tutor who impart knowledge to students has been brought down, and because their attractiveness as a career has weakened.