Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In order to become financially responsible adults children should learn to manage their own money at a young age

In the past few decades, as time has passed on, it has been important to learn financial importance to survival in complex circumstances. In this regard, childhood is the best time to learn about financial importance and related facts. Some people think that children should be free of all the responsibilities at an early age and should not burden to learn real-life facts. However, others hold a different opinion that childhood is a perfect time to gain knowledge related to money. From my perspective, the latter view contains more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that no one can deny the fact that children at a young age are interested to learn new things and will stick to the habits that they have learned at this age. Hence, it is crucial to teach them real facts about life. To be more specific, gaining knowledge about financial importance would encourage children to govern their own money in a more responsible way. Hence, they could survive in any unfavorable situations in their life. For instance, my brother’s life is a compelling example of this. In 2015, he lost his house because of the earthquake, but fortunately, my father had prepared him to fight certain obstacles in life. As a result, he survived through his troublesome time and bought a new home within six months.

Another noteworthy reason is that learning about finance at an early age would provide countless benefits in the future. To shed more light on it, participating in different activities in money management would create many situations whereby children would learn about the rules and regulations about the business. For instance, my brother used to work at my uncle’s business firm when he was in university. Hence, working through those years, he learned so many important skills regarding how to run a business which further helped him to establish his own firm following his graduation.

Lastly, children are more likely to become self-independent and mature if they are allowed to hold a large quantity of money at a young age. It would change the way of their thought process towards life and may avoid making unnecessary demands from their parents. Drawing from my experience, I had a habit of spending unnecessarily on my clothes when I was in university. Later on, when I started a job in the first year of the university year, I started realizing the value of money which made me a more responsible person. Also, I started saving my salary and so I could pay my tuition fees. Therefore, had I not realize the importance of money while doing a job, I would have grown as a spoiled adult.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I firmly believe that it is important to make children understand the value of money at an early age. This is because it helps them to emerge as a self-sufficient adult and because they will become more powerful managers.