Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to succeed you should be more like others than be different from everyone else.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides. People must weigh the pros and cons before jumping to conclusion. After all, each and every questions or topic require s careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Even though some may adamantly believe that it is easier for people who are more like others to succeed than it is for those who are different from everyone, I strongly think such opinions lack coherence to some extent. In my humble opinion, history has proven that those who may be considered peculiar or even eccentric are even more remembered by the masses for the following reasons.

First and foremost, the majority of individuals would agree with the notion that being average or normal is not something that people should strive to achieve, which is a belief that is surprisingly obvious. The main reason behind this rationale is that being excellent and outstanding at something are not easy to accomplish and thus deemed unbelievable and strange at the same time! In other words, when we closely look at the wealthiest and most acclaimed figures in today’s world, we will quickly notice that they are not like most people! To illustrate more thoroughly, Bill Gates, the owner and founder of Microsoft, is a household name in the twenty-first century and it would actually be embarrassing to be unaware to know what he’s done. How many people like Bill Gates do you know? Have you or your one friend ever started at a computer company? Do you know who got accepted to Harvard University and then dropped out? I think the picture by now through this series rhetorical, yet effective questions. All in all, we can’t and shouldn’t overlook the fact that being average or normal isn’t something that makes people stand out or succeed.

On top of this, being like everyone else and thinking like everyone else is not going to increase the chances of one succeeding. In the eye of many people in present-day society, new and better or different things are placed on a pedestal since technology has made it so hard for everyone to be original. Needless to say, as” there is nothing new under the sun”. It’s extremely crucial and admirable to think or do something that distinct, thereby being different. A great example of this to be inventions and innovations of all shape and sizes. The truth of the matter is, if we were all like everyone else, there would be no improvement or changes in the world. We would all be stuck in the stone ages and be huddled around a campfire praying for more thunder and lightning! Sometimes, different may be bad because all the new ideas are not logical. However, the beauty of being dissimilar and thinking differently is that, from time to time, there are groundbreaking and mind blowing ideas! Think about how the smartphone came to fruition. At first, we are yelling. Then, Someone got tired and decided to use pigeons. At the same time, others were making smoke clouds with a campfire and burning themselves quite badly. Then the telegraph was suddenly invented and many people back the actually thought that the telephone would be unnecessary! How wrong were those people? It goes without saying that if nobody thought differently, we would not have the telephone or these wonderful devices called smartphone which most people can’t live without. Long story short, it's clear as day to me that being different and think differently is not only beneficial but also essential to progress.

In summary, yes, it’s virtually impossible to provide a completely satisfying answer to an open-ended question. Although the jury may be out on the given essay topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that being “different” is something that people should not be ashamed of because the world does not acknowledge or praise average and normal.