Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Most people agree that the modern technology affects our lives in many different aspects. In my opinion, the access to the internet has many benefits for both individuals and communities as a whole. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore them in the following essay.

Firstly, online investigative reporting helps to expose the political corruptions and to keep politicians honest. In the past, there were only a few news outlets willing to write about the politics, which they had secret connections to the powerful politicians. As a result, they were not willing to make investigations regarding the political issues and they were hesitant in these matters. however, today, there are many online websites making reports about political issues no matter who they are. For instance, an online magazine recently published a story about the mayor of our hometown had taken bribe from the property developer. this was shocking and well-researched with the details, where the mayor had no choice but to resign. Although the evidence was not difficult to locate, only this independent website was willing to address this issue properly. this example clearly demonstrates how the internet helps to strengthen the democracy in the modern world.

Secondly, people are more motivated than before to become politically active because they can freely exchange their opinions online. In countries all over the globe, people use social networking services to share their ideas and thoughts. While in the past people might have thought that they were alone with their beliefs, today they realize that others share their ideas. my own experience demonstrate this concept. when I was at the university, I learned the municipal was going to demolish the park near the university to make a room for a massive parking lot. It was really disappointing because that park was the only place made us the happy moments which we spent our free time. At first, I thought that, as an individual, I could not stop this process from happening. however, I later joined a face book group dedicated to opposing the plan. when the members of the group realizes that how people were happy by going to that park we were get together and enthusiastically protest in front of the city hall until our voices were heard. I am convinced that finding each other on that site gave us the courage to actively protect our park.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the internet certainly has many positive effects on our lives. this is because online journalism helps nourish the democracy and because social networking services encourage people to get involved in local politics