Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world."

Since the dawn of humanity, people used to be the most curious seeker of the globe. When it comes to the term of data called “INTERNET”, the speed of their curiosity increased enormously. Everything has the possibility to have both proposition excellent and worst. From my point of view, the outcomes after using the Internet has mostly a positive impact on people's lives. I feel this way for a few reasons, which I am going to explore in the following essay.

To begin with, democracy can only flourish, where there are transparency and accountability. In the past, when there was no Internet, people used to depend on some news outlets to know the surrounding of them, owned or controlled by the people who were in power at that time. So they got the chance to hide their misdeed and also got the opportunity to make them rich. But since the spread of the Internet, online Investigative news outlets have been increased this day, which are entirely independent to capture and show the detailed news on anybody or anything. As a result, the crime of these influential people is getting reduce and make them aware of their doings. My own country is an excellent example of this. Recently, one MP of our running party agreed with some business people on a particular construction project. Somehow the journalist of one online news outlets got to manage to capture the video, where it was seen that The MP was bribed by the business people by giving them the promise that they will get the job. The video went so viral that he had no choice but to resign and not only that was arrested by law enforcement. After his arrest, some women accused him of a sexual harassment case while they were working in his office. By considering all this, he was sentenced to a total of twenty years of prison.

In addition to the convenience it provides, the Internet has made our day to day activities so easy and time-consuming. By way of example, In order to purchase a television, we have to place an order on a shopping website. Then the television will be delivered to our doorsteps. But if we think about the period of our grandparents, to make this job done they had to drive all the way to the shop. In a word, we can use the time we save owing to use of the Internet to perform productive activities such as reading and exercising.

On top of that, it is the easiest way for one to get educated by oneself. Internet is the most available and free of cost source of the world right now. According to Google, Microsoft it contains more than three trillion terabytes of data right now. Among them mostly are related to books, journals, articles which I mean to say are educational materials. So it is a blessing for the people who left their dream in their early stage by enlightening them now. My own experience will demonstrate this. My father is an economics graduate, has been working on a farm for more than 20 years. From his childhood, he was very passionate to repair the car. So when he learned that it is effortless to learn more profoundly using the Internet, he started to watch materials regarding this just in addition to prior basic knowledge. The most surprising matter was, within twelve months he completed almost all tutorials required to open an automobile shop and now he is the owner of his dreamy shop.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I am of the opinion that making our lives more meaningful Internet has a great impact. This is because making democracy in a transparent way with the help of news outlets and make yourself more productive by using our time not only accurately but also sensibly and of course last but not the least, spread the power of knowledge to make our dream alive till death Internet has a significant impact.