Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

In the 21st century, the Internet is an indispensable part of our lives. Although a lot of people question the benefits of the Internet due to the excessive usage and quick accessibility of the information, there is no doubt for me that the internet has improved our world and it is going to make it even better in the future. I feel this way for a couple of reasons which I will explain in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the development of the internet has allowed us to reach information more quickly and easily. A student, from any level of education, gets access to myriad information from the world's most visited website, Google. From a simple math problem to complex differential calculus, Google has answers to all problems. Another way to illustrate this, if you are a graduate student who looks for a specific article for your term paper, it is possible to read the article through a variety of online archives that offer thousands of academic articles. Therefore, the internet plays a major role in the information flow which is essential for us to expand our knowledge and enhance our abilities.

Moreover, the widespread use of the Internet provided us an enormous communication network that we can use to connect to our relatives. If you are living in a different country for your education, you can do a video chat with your parents. Additionally, these platforms increased the number of philanthropic activities through online charities. For instance, unfortunately, there has been a great number of forest fires in my country recently, and we have done our best to send help to the disaster areas by allocating money through these charities.

While critics argue that the spread of terrorism also takes place through the internet, and cybercriminals get access to our data through the internet, these incidents are monitored closely by the national security agencies. In a country like India and China, although tracking the daily internet usage of the common citizens, seems preposterous, but the security agencies such as India's NSA (National Security Agency) and IB (Intelligence Bureau) and China's 610 office, have always done commendable work on doing so. The spread of terrorism in these countries has been in check since the last known world-famous terrorist Osama Bin Laden.

In conclusion, it is an eternal debate on the positivity and negativity of the internet, based on the examples and scenarios presented above. However, one can logically conclude that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of the internet.