Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking, children learn mostly elementary knowledge from their parents. Some people believe that parents are the best ones who can guide the growing children. In my opinion, I don't agree with the points. There are several cases showing that parents aren't always considerate to their kids. They might ruin the lives of their children for some reason instead of guarding them with selfless love.

First of all, not every parent is able to teach his/her children properly. Some people have trouble with their emotional control or the abnormal concept of value, so they might not be the optimum ones for teaching children. For example, my aunt Mandy is an emotional person. Her 6-year-old daughter, which is my little cousin, is often scolded badly for negligible things, such as dropping some crumbs on the table or leaving her stationery on the school. When the last time I saw my cousin in my family gathering, she was blaming the other kid just for the reason that the kid touched her doll without asking her, and her tone and action were exactly like her mother. That's how a parent's bad behavior brings negative influences on a child.

Furthermore, some parents raise their children, not for selfless love. What they seek is to make a profit from children in the future. The traditional Chinese parents regard their children as private property. From their perspective, children must listen to all the parents' commands and requirements, which means that children cannot have their own opinions, and must follow the path parents have planned for them. Unfortunately, my parents are classic traditional Chinese parents. They asked me to be a doctor in the future and tried to force me when I was choosing an academic team in high school. In Taiwan, only the students in the biological team can apply for the colleges of medicine, and the doctor is the highest-paying job. Apart from my parents, there are thousands of parents in Taiwan force their children to become what the parents want instead of what children like.

In summary, parents play important roles in children's growth, but definitely, they are not the best teachers for children. People start learning how to be parents when they become parents, so it is normal that many of them are not good at educating children. For me, the most appropriate teachers for kids are those have considerable expertise in education.