Do You Agree Or Disagree With The Following Statement? Parents Or Other Adult Relatives Should Make Important Decisions For Their Older (15 To 18 Year-old) Teenage Children. Use Specific Reasons And Examples To Support Your Opinion.

In today’s competitive world, it’s a very essential to teach kids how to make a right decision about life, late teenage is the perfect age, when one allows his/her kid to take a right or wrong decision by own self because parents cannot be always there to help kids. Some people may agree that teenagers are allowed to make their own decision and others disagree. However, from my vintage point, teenage is the perfect time to learn about responsibility so they should allow making a decision for the following reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that independent thinking is a life skill and children should learn about it. Indeed, in the life journey, we face many situations where we have to make our decision without other people’s help; hence it’s good for our offspring to learn it as soon as possible. Apparently, kids discover how to force themselves to check each option with lots of attention. In order to make the best choice, they learn to check the pros and cons of the available choices. A vivid example can be given to shed light on the subject is my own experience. When I completed my school, my parents allowed me to take a huge decision about my majors. I was under pressure of making the most suitable choice about my future need, which led me to check every possible source like library, counselor visit, and internet. I gathered information and made a decision for major in Pharmacy. I was not reliable on other to make a right choice. This lesson taught me self-determination and gave me confidence about my decision.

Another reason that deserves some words is that since kids learn to make decision, they also acquire knowledge about its consequences. When a person make decision by own, he/she is the solely responsible for its result and can’t blame other people. If a student goes to a night party rather than doing study, he will surely discover truth from the outcome of his selection. It is a great chance to learn from a mistake. When parents make choices they also shoulder the consequences and enable their children to make mistakes again. Therefore, decision-making and the accompanying consequences can be of great use to teenagers.

The noteworthy interesting research conducted in my country shows that the sixty-nine percent modern parents allow their kids to make their own choice and want their kids to learn about their responsibility toward money, food and shelter. Eventually, they learn fact about when to seek help from other people and how to ask for help. Thus, kids acquire details about the dark and bright side of life.

In the conclusion, I firmly believe parents should allow teenagers to make their own choice to develop self-dependency, consequences and important lessons of life.