Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established without a doubt that education is a pivotal issue in everyone's life of today. The role of parents as the supporter of their children through their educational life is also of great importance. When it comes to the comparison with the past, I believe that parents of today are more involved in their children's education. In what follows, I illustrate my reasons regarding this subject.

The first aspect to point out is that, these days, parents are more knowledgeable about the advantages of a good education and its influences on the future of their children's life. They know that someone who is educated has more chance of being a successful person in their future. In addition, media and published materials of today encourage parents to be more sensitive about this issue and in this way, they try to raise parents' awareness. Comparing myself with my parents at a time they were studying can illustrate a good example. I remember that, when I was at school, there were so many journals, books and TV programs that was about the educational benefits and the importance of involving parents in the educational decisions of their children. However, when my parents were kids there were no such awareness or knowledge about the impact of this issue.

There is a furthermore subtle point we must consider which is the fact that, nowadays, the number of children in families is being decreased in comparison with the past. Therefore, parents have more time to spend with their children and to be involved in their educational matters. For instance, my parents were from big families with five children. However, these days, people try to have fewer children, at most three, and instead, they want to put most of their time and energy for these few children to be more successful in their future.

Finally, yet importantly, these days, schools have an important role. They most of the time ask parents to come to their children's school and talk to them about the probable educational problems of their kids. There is also many meetings and ceremonies which parents should participate and naturally, they get involved with their children's education. For example, in my school, every month a meeting between parents and school administration was held that the presence of parents was obligatory.

In conclusion, I think the role of parents in the education of children are more potent in comparison with the past. It is because we have more parents that are knowledgeable, families are smaller and schools are more influential in this matter.