Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a secure job is vital for a good quality of life. Many people think that in the past people could easily find their future careers, which lead to their successful foreseeable future. Others, however, disagree with this notion. In my opinion, people had faced challenges at any time in the past and even today.

First of all, the system that we have today was still in the building process. The demand for the work force was higher than it is today, and that made individuals think that it was easy to find a secure job. To illustrate, Three decades ago, foreigner pharmacists, who moved to the United States could easily get the licence in order to practice their profession. After they got their licence they worked and their job was secure because the demand for that position was significantly high. That is why, today most of that generation think that in the past, it was easier to find a secure profession than it is in this time of age.

Another reason why it was not easy in the past to find a career is because the bureaucracy was even higher than it appears today. Not all the professions were in high demand for workers. In those fields, adults had to have very strong connections, so that they could secure their job. Actually, the same practice is been applied somehow even today, no matter what field you are working in or like to work. For instance, my grandmother told me that when she was young, her father was an outgoing person and had a wide social network, and because of those connections, he could find a secure job for my grandmother. At that time, people could not successfully navigate the choppy waters of the bureaucracy and poverty. According to this true story, in the past, people might have been through a lot of obstacles before they had found a decent job.

In conclusion, there was not easy to identify the desired career in the past. This is because the demand for work force might have been only for one profession rather than all disciplines; therefore, people who were lucky enough to have been part of that group of civilians think that it was easy to identify a career back in the old days. Also, decades ago, the bureaucracy might had not helped people to secure their jobs.