Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure successful future Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny that education has been made universal, raising the masses' cultural and scientific level, which leads impressionable people to conclude that people are easier to find a secure job than in the past. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as technology development, economic globalization, and population growth are concerned, I firmly hold the view that it is tough for people even to predict the near future, making it harder to identify whether the job is secure or not.

First and foremost, many jobs that used to be secure have been no longer needed with technology development, as computers or other machines have displaced many employees. Meanwhile, modern industrial technology is developing at an incredible speed, a trend that machines take manual, intelligent control instead of manual control appears in all kinds of productions. Not to mention that many factories would like to use more automation technology once the cost of it is acceptable because of its outstanding performance in improving the level of productivity and reducing the number of workers required. As a result, people will be uncertain about the next eliminating job under the rapid development of technology.

Furthermore, the fact that in the environment of economic globalization, rapid changes happen in professions and trades and various fields at present days indicates that a secure job is not easy to find. Take the case of a factory in southern China, which mainly obtained orders from foreign customers as their contract manufacturers. This factory, having a total of 7000 workers, had been running smoothly for ten years. Many of the workers had thought their jobs are stable until the financial crisis came. The global financial crisis brought deadly damage to this factory, resulting in new orders down by about 90 percent, so the factory had to lay off more than half its workers. Had it not been for economic globalization's influence, market and employment would not have such a dramatic shift in a relevantly short period.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that the popularization of education urges to improve laborers' quality, helping them get a secure job. Ironically, people would find that even their average educational attainment is higher than in the past, it is more difficult for them to find a satisfying job. The global population is growing so fast that it considerably exceeds the speed of job growth. Having a flood of the same educational degree everywhere, no doubt that today's job market is increasingly competitive for them. Therefore, getting a secure job can be challenging for modern people due to population growth.

In a nutshell, I maintain that people had fewer struggles to find a secure job compared to today in the past. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note that everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.