In order to become financially responsible adults children should learn to manage their own money at young age

It is hard to deny that many adults do not start to learn the skills required until they enter the industries, which leads impressionable people to generate that children are unnecessary to learn financial skills in their childhood since they will naturally acquire these skills from work. As far as the cultivation of good habits, daily activities needs, and family burden reduction are concerned, I firmly believe that children should learn to manage their money at a young age to become financially responsible when they grow up.

First and foremost, teaching children financial management can help them build good spending and saving habits, as it is wise to get early prepared since they will have to manage their own money in the future. Meanwhile, parents can introduce the concept of earned pocket money and encourage children to save some or all of this money. Not to mention that parents can provide their children with a valuable lesson on budgeting and learning the value of the items they are saving to obtain by showing their children how to put away some of their pocket money every week or month to afford to buy a more significant item.

Furthermore, the fact that even to children, there are some inevitable daily activities require financial management skills indicates that parents need to teach their children these lessons. Among these daily activities, shopping is one important way to manage money successfully. Take the case of my young cousin, whose parents attach great importance to children's financial education. When my cousin has decided to save up to buy a more expensive item, his parents will take him to several shops before buying the item to show him the price difference. Buying in one store rather than another might mean they can buy their chosen item a few weeks sooner. Had it not been for his parents' supportive attitudes towards developing children's financial skills, my cousin might lose the chance to learn these skills that, once mastered, will benefit all his lifetime.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that parents teaching children to manage money is a waste of time because they will naturally learn them when they grow into adults, and even if children get the ability to manage their money, it will bring nothing changes to their household. Ironically, children who master financial skills earlier than others can help reduce their family's burden. They can achieve financial income to meet their household bills, save for their college, or cover their entertainment expenses. Therefore, children learn these skills to save money or earn money and lower their family bills to some extent, enabling their parents to save for retirement, children's college tuition, or another long-term financial goal.

In a nutshell, I maintain that children ought to learn how to manage their own money to become financially responsible. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note that everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.