Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on whether children received too much assistance for make decisions from their parents in the past. Personally, I am of the opinion that children nowadays are prone to make decisions by themselves. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, parents as one of the most significant source of information for children to know the society has declined. Parents used to be a major

place where their children can acquire knowledge, while with the development of modern technology, children can easily and quickly search unknown information through internet. For example, before the internet if a student needed to decide which university to apply for after graduating from high school, he had to go to his parents for help because they could obtain much more information via their social circles. On the other hand, the student can simply go to the website of each university where they can find even more details that can assist them to make an appropriate decision. Thus, there is no need for him to depend on his parents anymore.

Secondly, young people nowadays spend more time with friends than ever before. Obviously, children at the similar age have more common interest, thus they have the tendency to hang out together. However, in the past because of the limited methods for communication, mainly letters , they did not get enough chance to meet others, while currently children can easily get in touch with each other through messages, phone calls and video chats, which encourages them to make decision on their own.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that young children in the past depend too much on their parents for decision making. This is because they have more source to find information and because they are prone to seek help from their peers nowadays.