Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

In today's world, social skills play a prominent role in each individual's life. One of the most important ones is having the ability to make decisions and being responsible for it. While in the past young people relied on their parents to decide for them, now the youth are more responsible for their life's decisions. In what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint.

First of all, the general knowledge of parents about bringing up children has increased these days in comparison with the past. As a fundamental concept in psychology context, parents play an absolutely essential role in the formation of a child's character. TV programs and social media gradually make parents aware of this important role and help them to learn some beneficial strategies for growing a successful child, the one how can stand on its own feet. Today, parents advise their children to make a great decision, but they do not decide for them. In fact, parents try to make their children responsible for their decision. They always support them, even when their young child experiences unpleasant results from his or her decision.

The second noteworthy reason is that not only can schools make students knowledgeable, but it can teach them social skills for their life as well. Many schools have some courses about social skills which help students in many different aspects of their life. In the mentioned courses, some activities are designed to help students to build a strong personality for themselves. My experience is a compelling example of this. About two years ago, I did not have enough confidence to make decisions on my own, and I wanted my parents to decide for me all the time. During a course named, "Gaining Social Skills" my teacher helped me to be confident. The strategy was for each decision first examine all aspects of the problem, then find different ways to deal with it, and finally choose the best among them. She taught me that I should think deeply about problems and after making my decision being brave enough to accept the result of my decision. It really affected my personality and made me a decisive person.

To make a long story short, children are more responsible and better at making decisions on their owns today. This is because parents’ general knowledge is significantly improved by social media and educational TV programs. Moreover, schools have a great impact on children to learn to decide and be responsible for the results.