Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, the decision making of youngsters is one of the essential works, which have an enormous effect on their adult life. Personally, I believe that juveniles nowadays make decisions properly by standing on their own feet. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, thanks to the improvement of teaching and education methods, young people have ample information about various issues. Juveniles can make fantastic decisions in the critical times of their life by relying on their sufficient knowledge, which they have learned in school-time. Furthermore, if they do not have any information about something, they can surf the net or consult with a professional to handle their problems. My personal experience is a compelling example in this regard. About eight years ago, I wanted to decide in which field I want to continue studying at the university. In the first step, I sorted my fields of interest that I had noticed in high school. In the next level, I consulted with a professional person in this regard. As a consequence, I have applied for civil engineering. Now, I am one of the best students in my university, which I owe it all to my wise decision.

Second, nowadays, young people want to have more freedom in comparison with the past, so they want to rely on themselves, not on their fathers and mothers. Actually, it is vital that a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere must be provided in which juveniles independently can make essential decisions. In addition, scientists have found that if youngsters feel they are free in decision making, they will be self-esteemed and self-assured in the future. However, in critical and crucial occasions in which they cannot make wise decisions, and it jeopardizes their adult life, parents must help them.

In conclusion, I opine that juveniles nowadays independently make various decisions in essential situations. This is because they are more knowledgeable now, and they want to have more freedom.