Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to

Definitely the world in the past was really different than how it is in these recent days. Everything has been changed, social life, finance, industrialization and so on. Even on the scale of a small family, a lot of changes can be seen. Kids nowadays are more responsible for their decisions than kids in the past, this is because of the advanced technology and the busy life of the parents.

First, nowadays the whole world is under our fingertips, just by a click on a screen we can know so much information. Children don't have to go to the library and set for hours looking for information any more like kids in the past used to do. This approach makes it easy for kids to know more and to be more aware of what happens in the whole world. Not only that, it helps them exchange experiences and knowledge with kids in different countries. With this wide exposure to everything, kids become more capable of taking their own decision without going back to check with their parents. They can search for the advantage and disadvantages of their ideas and decisions. They can ask people who have experience in the thing they need to make a decision about just by chatting with them. In the end, kids now can form an almost complete picture of what they are looking for. Thanks for the advanced technology which made this so easy to happen.

Second, we live in a fast pace life, parents are running in every direction trying to provide the best for their kids, but this makes them usually busy. It ends up; they don't have enough time to spend with their kids. The exact opposite was happening in the past; life pace with much slower, parents had more time to spend some quality time with their kids, which allowed the whole family to discuss a lot of their life issues and decisions at those times. I feel bad for nowadays kids that they have to make their own decisions because it is not easy to have that quality time to spend with their parents. Also, I feel bad for parents because although they run in every direction to learn more and to help their kids, still kids know more about their own world. I experience this with my seven years old son who knows a lot more than me in how to tackle a computer and how to think about solutions to certain problems. What he learns as a second-grade student in science, for example, I -his mother- had learned the same exact thing in my sixth-grade. Kids now have wide knowledge not only in science and math but even socially, which helps them make the right decisions without checking with adults.

In conclusion, I encourage parents to try to assign more time to their kids and to try to discuss those decisions with the kids. This will benefit both the kids and the parents. Kids will make sure to make the right decision; the parent will widen their thinking technique by talking to their kids.