TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that teachers should share their political and social views with their students. They say by doing that the teachers melt with the kids and students don't feel far from their teachers. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that teachers should keep their points of view to themselves rather than share them with the students because this makes bias in the students' minds, and it is just wast of time.

First, usually, the teacher is one of the role models in the students' life. When a teacher shares his/her political, social or religious point of view, the students get affected by this opinion. Sometimes they form their own opinion depending on the teacher's one. For example, last year, before the USA presidential election, when it was clear enough that the competition is between Mrs. Clinton and Mr. Trump. My son's teacher in the school was telling the kids about the election, what it is for, who are the nominated people, and how it is done. I found my little five years son formed his own opinion and telling me about the candidate he wants me to elect. I asked him why he chose this person, not the other one, he told me that this is his teacher's opinion and he wants to hold the same opinion like her. It may not represent a real problem in this topic for this range of age, but it will definitely cause a huge problem if the teacher discusses an issue like transgender with a middle school students, especially if he/she holds an opinion oppose the student's molars or opinion. Simply because students respect their teacher and like their point of view and hold a bias against any other opinion.

Second, students go to school to learn, not to talk about other social or political events and discuss them. The time span of the semester is hardly enough to fit the subjects, no time to waste on other things. Students are really in need of every second. I can remember when I was in high school, we had this chemistry teacher who loves to share his opinions about everything with us, he tells us about his trip to Germany, his opinion in our country economic situation, and many many more topics. He used to spend at least twenty minutes of the lesson time just talking about anything. At the end of the semester, we hardly finished three-quarters of what we should learn. We struggled after that to study the rest by ourselves. He just wasted our valuable time in things that are not valuable.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above. I encourage every teacher to keep his/her opinions away from the students. If they did so, they will discover for themselves, that this is much better for students and their time.