Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

No doubts that all parents always dream for the best for their children. They usually think about the best is related mainly to the best job that brings the most earnable salary. As a result they try to encourage their kids to get the highest grades they can. Many parents use money as a tool to do so. In their defense, they say that money works as a sword with two blades, it encourages the kids to study hard, at the same time, it teaches them that they have to work hard to earn money. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that money should do nothing relating to school grades because not all kids are there to get high grades and to avoid creating a greedy generation.

First of all, let’s agree that high school marks are not the most important thing in our kids' lives. We see many kids who are not achieving the highest scores in their school marks but they achieve them in other fields like sports, music, art or even acting. Pushing those little fellows so hard for studying by giving them money as a reward only if they get high grades, is a type of punishment to them rather than encouragement. Each child has his/her point of strength, that the important thing parents need to work on. Also sometimes school grades give false alarms, for example, the other day I read a story about a kid who went home from the school with a paper to hand to his mother. His mother read the letter, and the kid asked his mom, what is in there? She replied that the school telling her that he is so smart for them and it is better for him to be in another place. This was a lie from the mother, what was really written in the letter that this student mentality is so poor that the school can't accept him anymore. The mother encouraged her son and worked with him hard. At the end it turned out that this boy who kicked from the school for poor achieving is Albert Einstein the great scientist. From this story, we can get the conclusion that school grades are not the most important thing to be rewarded by money. Also not all the kids meant to be high graders, some are meant to be champion chips, other business owners and so on.

Second, if parents kept in rewarding their kids with money on every high mark they got, the only result will be a greedy generation, a generation that doesn't do anything for free. In other words, those kids will not help each other or help their communities because they will not get paid for this help. Those kids will not volunteer to do stuff because there will be nothing financially in return. A selfish generation will be there living among us and they will teach their kids the same thing, which will create unappreciating people in the future for the time infinity.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I encourage each parent to avoid using money as a rewarding tool a lot with the kids. At the same time, I like to put a reminder in the parents’ minds, that school grades are not more important than their kids themselves, so not use them to force your kids to study more or achieve better, there are hundreds of other ways to encourage the kids.