Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to su

There are several factors which can affect people's decision-making; one of these factors is the dependency on parents. When it comes to this issue some people believe that parents had more impact on children to make up their mind in the past than what they have these days, while others disagree with that point of view. Although it seems plausible at first glimpse that the second idea carries more weight, I would counter it due to some reasons. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the unprecedented burgeoning of technology in recent decades thoroughly affect people's manner of decision-making. To be more exact, people relied on their parents or older people in the past to make the best choice since they had more experience and knew the distinctive aspects of every task. However, in the fast-paced life of today, the exponentially-growing internet makes information exchange rate reach a level more advanced than ever before, thus people can have access to a considerable amount of information. Therefore, young members of community suppose that there is no longer need to parents' experience and they can make up their mind on their own.

The second reason which deserves some words here lies in the fact that people can examine the situations very well these days to select the best option since there are a number of educational places everywhere. To clarify this point, the number of literal people raises rapidly during the last decade, and it is simpler for educated people to make up their minds individually. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. My father often remembers my grandfather who did not take part in school, so he saw his parents as those who were always there to help him opt the best solution for dissimilar problem. While my older brother who studied chemical engineering in Tarbiat Modaress University always tries to find the best method to cope with life's difficulties. As a result, people can determine their way of life nowadays superior to those who lived in the past.

To sum up, given the facts that technology lets people choose their own way of life and educated people can deal with unlike conditions due to their knowledge, I am of the opinion that young people are less dependent on their parents to select the best decision for themselves.