Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making is an important pillar in our lives. We live in a complex and sophisticated world that required accurate and efficient decisions in our daily life. Some people support the statement that youngsters in the past rely on their parents too much comparing it to the present time; others would disagree. As far I am concerned, I believe that the young generation of nowadays is less dependable on the parents in taking decisions for two crucial reasons.

First, the technological advancement in our era augmented the independence of children from their parents. These days technology facilitate our daily chores and provide us with a huge amount of information with such easy and common mediums. This latter would raise our awareness of the world surrounding us at early ages. For example, when my little sister was born the internet was already introduced in many households in my country. We were fortunate enough to have this high-technology that time in our home. Basically, when my sister turned six years old, she was able to manipulate the computer and also was able to use the internet for a myriad of things: homework assistant online, buying from different stores using the credit card with the consent of our parents...etc. So, she was relying on herself doing multiple tasks without the intervention of any adults. As you can see, children have established more sense of self-reliance than their peers did, decades ago.

Second, the modernization of schools helped enormously to get the young people more dependent. The educational programs, nowadays, tend to get the children more involved in classrooms rather than just sitting and listening to the teacher. The programs are more engaging which would give the pupil confidence to be involved without having inner insecurities. For instance, my five years old nephew is studying in a primary school and I noticed something special in the program of the school. They do not use traditional teaching methods but they try to give the young man his own self-study path and the presence of the teachers inside the class is only to guide him not didactic him. In the case of the improving the reading skills, the teachers just give the pupils reading passages on the tablet and they try to let them discover by their own the way they should pronounce and speak in general by imitating a recording voice with the same passage. This experience unveils that we are witnesses of a young generation that is almost completely independent from their parents.

In sum, though some may do not agree with my reasoning, I truly have the sense that children or even teenagers are taking their decisions more freely than was the case years ago. Not only will because of the technological advancement but also the usage of practical and engaging teaching methods in schools. Parents should give their children more liberty in taking their own decisions to help them gain and experience the sense of responsibility at early ages.