Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the discovery of the woven basket in the ancient village of Lithos will substantially prove that baskets are not uniquely Palean may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies on unsupported assumptions about what kind of evidence archaeologists based their reasoning on. Therefore, the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

The writer assumes that the origin of woven baskets is the village of Palea because simply it was the place where archeologists discovered it first. In fact, the timeline of discovery might be entirely irrelevant to the origin. Suppose, for example, the archeologists have first discovered the baskets in the village of Lithos, it would turn the argument upside down. Furthermore, the author assumes the Brim River that separates the two villages have not been subject to change with time. The author characterizes the river as deep and broad that would be crossed only by boat. If the river has undergone drastic geological changes, and, at certain periods, it was shallow and narrow, it would definitely not be necessary to cross it with a boat. It might be that Paleans used their unique baskets to carry goods to trade with the people of Lithos village across the river, which may explain the unique origin.

Additionally, the writer assumes that the absence of Palean boats is definitive evidence that Paleans could not cross the river. In fact, perhaps the material of boats that time has degenerated and could not leave traces of evidence today, or even the evidence related to boats are not discovered yet. Suppose, if there were actually boats, it would explain that Paleans have used them to cross the river carrying out the unique baskets. In its current form, the argument fails to establish a link that demonstrates that baskets are not unique to Paleans because of the presence of baskets on the other side of the bank. If the baskets were carried from one side to another just by the stream of the river, or in a season of a flood, their presence does not mandate that they are not unique to the village of Palea.

The notion that the baskets are not unique to Paleans would be strengthened by evidence that the river has not undergone any geological changes that may or may not affect the stream. Also, making sure that other means to cross the river could not be a way for transportation such as swimming, walking, or through a bridge. The author should also demonstrate that the material of the boats used during that period of time could not degenerate.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the presence of the baskets on the other side of the river indicates that the baskets are not uniquely Palean. After all, the argument of the river separation and absence of boats to reach the other side would probably lay the foundation to initiate a good argument. However, to support the assertion that baskets are not unique to the village of Palea. The writer must first provide meticulous details of each aspect of the evidence that will, in fact, show unequivocally the presence of baskets in Lithos is not due to the reach of Paleans to the other side. Without such evidence, archaeologists should be skeptical that baskets are not uniquely Palean.