Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.”

Although traveling in our own country has a lot of advantages, I believe we benefit more from traveling abroad. Among many reasons why I hold this opinion, three stand out and will be discussed later in this essay.

The most important reason that is worth mentioning is that traveling overseas makes us familiar with other country’s cultures, tradition and civilization. By visiting historical places, museums, old architectures, etc. we can earn valuable information about other country’s civilization which may not be earned by reading any book or article. If we want to understand about different cultures, direct communication is the best way. The more you communicate with other nations, the more you know about their culture.

In addition to getting familiar with other cultures, as a tourist, traveling abroad is an exciting experience. We can visit nice places of other countries, for instance if you go to France for vacation one of the most important activities is going on top of the Eifel tower. Visiting museums, go sightseeing, taking tour of different cities and shopping are other popular actions for tourists. Trying traditional foods can be the most challenging aspect of traveling abroad specially in Asian countries like china which has the strangest foods in the world.

The last reason why I think traveling to other countries is more useful than traveling in our country is that it can be a good experience that may change our perspectives in our lives. Science, technology, sports, arts, political systems, freedom and many other things can be different from one country to another. For instance, to see progressed technology of western countries can be inspiring for a traveler from a third world country like Iran. For example, for a civil engineer from Iran seeing modern building industry of the USA may be a rewarding experience which may change his/her point of view about civil engineering field, that it may result in deciding to migrate abroad either to continue his or her education or to live in such an advanced piece of the world.