Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighbourhood (the area where they live) than now.

It is widely admitted that the relationship in one neighbourhood is gradually distant and no longer be close as in the past. Correspondingly, people are less interested in making friends with neighbourhoods and improving their community now. Although our living condition and facilities in the neighbourhood advanced tremendously, people’s interests to devote in the neighbourhood is decreasing due to the following reasons.

First of all, there is no need for people to shoulder duties for their neighbourhood. Nowadays, the neighbourhoods have the special committee to do all the duties, such as cleaning streets, doing gardening and repairing damaged facilities. The residents can pay the fees and enjoy the service without worries. However, people have to do everything for the neighbourhood by their own. People could manage their community as well so they were motive to devote time in it. Thus, people spend less time or even no time to find the interest in doing things together with others now.

Secondly, the higher mobility of today’s life makes people attach less importance to their neighbourhood. At present, there are a few people who will live in one place for a life-long time. My aunt who has lived in four cities is a classic example. She does not care about the condition and quality of her neighbourhood because she is not sure when she will leave for next places. In contrast, my grandparents took their neighbourhood as their home. They were willing to clean the environment and struggle for more benefits for their community without any complaints. In this point of view, people in the cared their neighborhood more.

Furthermore, with the rapid development of the economy, people become more independent to their neighbourhood than in the old days. In the past, some people did a lot of things for their neighbourhood because they expected others in the neighbourhood could offer favours when they had troubles. One household wanted to refurbish house might need the help from the community because the cost of hiring a company is exclusive, while people can pay for professionals to do this work because of the higher income. That is to say, as people’s willingness to donate to the neighbourhood decrease, the needs of their neighbourhood will less now.

In conclusion, people become more independent with fewer obligations and fewer affections for their neighbourhood. As a result, they are not interested in improving it like before. Even if we have a committee to manage the neighbourhood, we ought to pay more attention to our home.