Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a heated issue concerning if people rely on automobiles too much after automobiles became common transportation and more available for people. I am of the opinion that it is understandable that people are reliant on vehicles. I feel this way for mainly two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, using cars as transportation is time-saving and convenient because of the high mobility of cars. People can drive anytime they want and choose the shortest routes. In contrast, taking mass transportation, people should wait at certain points and follow the departure time, even they need to face the risk of being delay. My commuting experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was in high school, I needed to wake up at 6 a.m. to catch my bus to school. It usually took me one hour to my high school, and sometimes there is no available seat. Additionally, it was exhausting for me to stand for one hour on the crowded bus. On the other hand, my father sometimes drove me to school, and it only took me thirty minutes. In this case, I did not need to worry about if I bring too much stuff with me, I certainly could sit down, and I could sleep longer in the morning. Thus, driving a car is actually an efficient way to reach the destination, and people do need it.

Moreover, using private vehicles helps people save money since the public transportation fee is usually higher than the fuel cost when the car drives the same distance. The price passengers pay for public transportation is for keeping the quality of stations, drivers, services, and so on. However, the expense people spend on the fuel of their cars is relatively lower. For instance, when I was in Austria, I and my friends usually shared a car to travel. This is because the tickets for trains and buses are expensive there, even it is faster. If I had used mass transit systems, I would not have spent only 100 euros to travel from Austria to Belgium and to the Netherlands. Hence using automobiles is a cheaper way to move.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people are dependent on vehicles to a reasonable extent. This is because taking a car is more comfortable and convenient, and we will not spend too much money on transportation.