Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment – doing thins they like to do – rather than doing things they should do.

Even though some people would say that today they are spending more time with personal enjoyment activities, rather than doing their duties, I think the opposite to this. I am inclined to believe that work hustle is responsible for depriving people from their possibilities to have more free time. I think this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First and furthermost, nowadays due to economic crises, many people have to work for more hours or they hold a second job to be able to provide a reasonable life for their families. Some, besides their immediate family also have some obligation with another member part of the extended family. For instance, in my country it is normal for a professor to work in three different schools managing a schedule amongst morning, afternoon and evening classes. Other people hold a job during the day and work as a freelancer as soon as they’re home in order to supplement their income. This journey leaves no space for pleasure.

Secondly, another point I would like to discuss which supports my argument is that there’s other group of people who sometimes does not need any extra money. But ambition makes them to deprive themselves of their enjoyment activities to support a high standard way of living. For example there is many celebrities that can live only by the profits of their own fortune, but they choose to continue working until their bodies cannot stand anymore.

In conclusion, I believe that each day more and more people are committed with their duties instead of enjoy their lives. This because some group must to work harder to sustain their families, and pay their bills, while for other group work is an option, but their ambition takes away any possibility of life enjoyment.