People learn things better from those at their own level- such as fellow students or co workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors. Do you agree or disagree?

Even though the learning process can occur in trhough many sources as reading books, internet, sharing ideas with others. I am inclined to believe that it is people above us, who can teach us most in life. In the following paragraphs I will give to examples for the reasons that makes me hold this opinion.

First and furthermost, I strongly believe that experience is very significant for teaching any subject. For instance, I was studying for an English proficiency test with a friend, until I started questioning our method and even if we were getting any progress. So I decided to take private lessons with a specialized professor who actually have expertise about all the tasks of the test and can truly evaluate my work through official tools I didn’t have access previously. I’ve been seeing much more progress in two weeks than I saw in a month of studies with my friend.

Secondly, in a work field, co-workers are most likely to hold the same position and consequently the same point of view in daily basis issues. On the other hand, supervisors might have passed for multiple positions and gained expertise from different areas and older experiences. Couple of years ago I got into an argument with my engineering crew about some ordinary problem on the construction site. I didn’t want to bother my supervisor with something that we could solve by ourselves. Later that day, I shared what I was doing with my boss, not to ask for his opinion, just to let him know about my activities. Even though I didn’t ask, he shared his position and the problem was solved within five minutes. If I have shared the issue earlier with him, I could have spent my time in other important activities.

In conclusion, despite the fact that one can always learn something from simply sharing ideas with any person and any situation. I strongly believe that professors and professionals in higher positions have more knowledge and hold different methods that make the learning process more efficient.