Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Personal enjoyment and taking their own time is something that most people tend to do in today's world. People step aside from their duties to do the stuff they like to do. However, this phenomenon didn't exist in the past and people could not easily avoid their responsibilities and go on vacations. I believe that contemporary human beings spend a lot of time on personal joy and this is caused mainly out of two reasons.

First of all, as technology began to develop in time, tough tasks requiring a lot of time and effort became easier and today a lot of tasks can be done faster than before. Technology most of all permitted mankind to possess more free time available, which allowed them to have more leisure and fun. For instance, my father is an architect and twenty years ago, he had to work hours designing buildings in a sophisticated way by sketching all the components by his hand. Nowadays he can easily turn on his personal computer and start creating much more efficient and reliable sketches. Hence he is able to assign more time than before to his family and things he wants to do and enjoy. Although he still does not neglect the things he should do, he is capable of spending most of his time on his favorite activities.

Second, social media is currently influencing humanities more than ever. People are intensively seeking happy experiences through social media pages and a process of mental observations influences them in a drastic way. The more people spend time on social media, the more they perceive happiness in forms of relaxation and vacations. This process unintentionally deviates people from their most productivity, exhausting them in their mandatory jobs or performances. A consequence of social media is that people become reluctant to their works, feeling that they are under duress and it urges them to assign more time on personal stuff rather than doing what they should do. For example, I had to study for my master's entrance exam last year, and seeing my friends on social media enjoying their own times on vacation or my neighbors having fun at a ceremony, forced me to think over a vacation. I did so and took a few days off from my former plans and went to a trip with my family, in order to ease the pain of not having fun enough.

To conclude, I think that people use more of their time for personal enjoyment and that is not terrifying. Gaining energy from enjoyable activities enforces us to behave well in our work environment or coercive tasks. Consequently, motivated relaxed people can perform better in their daily activities. At last, it is obvious that no one should avoid doing things they should do, it's just a matter of priority and balance between these two different sides.