Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is essential to obtain academic knowledge for further development. The academic subjects that people can specialize in are increasing daily, and a vast range of sciences exist currently. Though some people tend to choose one major specialization over others, some prefer to take courses in multiple subjects, rather than just one. I believe that gaining knowledge in a variety of subjects can be harmful, and I think focusing on only one specific major can more beneficial than jumping from one topic to the other.

First of all, specializing in only one subject raises the level of focus in an individual, prevents distraction, and is more straightforward. Learning academic lessons through a variety of areas produces distraction. One who has to deal with a vast area of knowledge with different implementations and contexts can not easily advance into his career by mastering various subjects. For example, students who study majors in management often face more challenges than the students studying in the fields of biology or chemistry. I am currently studying an MBA, which is a multidisciplinary degree, concentrating on different skills of running a business. Researchers at the University of Harvard have recently experimented, and the findings show that MBA students face more problems seeking job opportunities or admissions in other Universities. The lack of focus and expertise in these major disadvantages them over other majors with specific subjects.

Secondly, it is more likely to reach culminations by studying specific subjects. Take a chemistry student for instance. He can push his limits into learning more and more chemistry, and by advancing into higher education and higher stages, possessing enough knowledge to being remarked as one of the prominent faces of the field is entirely possible. For example, Maryam Mirzakhani is one of the famous Iranians ever. She was one of the brilliant talents in mathematics, resulting in international trophies. She advanced into mathematic in a way that she became one of the most prominent mathematics scientists in the world. The example has brought to clarify that reaching peaks in one field is more attainable while thriving into multiple subjects is somewhat impossible. It not astonishing that many of the Noble prize winners were maintained their focus on only one subject and the sophisticated knowledge in their fields so that their names will last forever.

Finally, the advantages of specializing in one specific subject take over that of the disadvantages. Scientists who achieve success by their spectacular theories by focusing on one area will receive more positive feedbacks from society. Consequently, gaining expertise and climbing the ladders of success in one subject should gain more attention than jumping from one topic to another. Although, I believe that in managing and administration positions, people should possess multidisciplinary knowledge, preparing them to confront various problems they face in different departments of their corporation.