Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that today humans spend much time on personal enjoyment because of easy access to recreational medium like mobile, televisions, and computers. However, I disagree with the statement and think that in the 21st century, people are now more engaged in doing required assignments than before for the following reasons.

First of all, in this technological era, people have to do more tasks because of the availability of the resources and communication networks. For example, in the last week, I took a short vacation from my office. However, in every moment, coworker, and the boss called me for information on various tasks. On the other hand, before, if people went for a break, they could enjoy without any interruptions. Now, one can perform a lot of works within the limited amounts of time because of the advanced medium. But it does not mean that they get free time, but they need to work more. Even people carry their official work in the home and do it through the internet. Therefore, humans life becomes more complex and busy.

Secondly, people are now engaging to become highly competitive, and for this reason, they perform more tasks efficiently and effectively. To become more successful in the career, they do a lot of works than requirements. For instance, my coworker stayed in the office till late at night, and even in the lunch break, they try to do work. In contrast, a few years back, they used to do gossip in the lunch time and tried to leave the office earlier. People give more focus on gaining more professional success instead of personal pleasure.

In third, leisure activities often fall in the realm of necessary obligations. People use their free time as doing exercise or playing football, soccer, and the reason behind such work is to become more healthy and able to perform more necessary tasks. For example, I spend my weekend in the local gym, swimming, or playing basketball with my husband. It gives me personal satisfaction, part of why I do this to become stronger and competent. Therefore, people's recreation often turns into personal improvements.

In conclusion, it can say that people spend more time on obliged activities rather than personal refreshments because of the advancement of technology, competition, and self-improvement. In a recent survey of New York University showed that more than 60 percent of people spend more time on required tasks and less time in pleasure.