Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that extended family is no more necessary as before because of the easy communication technology and increasing pace of life. However, I disagree with the statement and think that in the 21st century relationship with the broaden family members is most valuable factor for the following reasons.

First of all, living in the expanded family gives people more mental peace than the past. Because people are now involving more competition in the profession to become more successful, which makes life borning and exhausted. Contacting with the grabparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles at the end of the day helps people to overcome tiredness. For example, I live in a broad family and we all do dinner together, and then we discuss various interesting issues, make fun, that relieves my tiredness after a long hectic day. In contrast, if I live in a nuclear family, I hardly get this pleasant environment, where everyone is more self-centerd and busy in their own tasks. This way, extended family members are more pshychologically happy than others.

Secondly, there are a lot of advantages of living with large family. As now all people are working outside in the family, therefore, living in a broad familly leverages people to lessen the burden of household chores. For instance, in my family, we are 10 members, all are working or studying except my parents, but we are doing the household task together and can complete it within a very short time. It also increases our bond. While working, we chatt each other, and it turns into a fun. On the other hand, if there are 4 family members, then it might be the huge burden of doing all tasks and can not gossip which in turn makes people lives ridiculous. Granchildren gets a huge opportuity to learn more about past culture, tradition from their grandparents.

In conclusion, in this competitive era, extended family members help people to live more peacefully and joyously. A recent study of New York University have showed that people who are living with all other family members are mentally more competent than others who live in a small family.