# Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do—rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The discussion about whether or not the way of spending time by people is a very controversial discussion. There are people on both sides of the policy, who have very strong feelings. Some people feel that now people doing the thing, which is, really should do by them. But most believe that people lose their valuable time by doing personal enjoyment. However, If I were forced to chose, I would raise my voice for those people now spending their time by their own way doing unnecessary tasks. It is my firm belief that people now enjoy free time by themselves due to several reasons. I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the reasons for my specific thought is that people due to technology enjoy their free time by their own way. They spend more time with different technology rather than talking with their friends and family members. I have to admit my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experiences. You see Of course, there have been both positive and negative effects since the invention of the Smartphone, but in regards to face-to-face interaction, it has done a lot of harm. For example, my friends and I used to go out to bars a lot. Sometimes, there would be a lull in the conversation, but for the most part, we talked and had a good time. Some people were quieter than others but it was no big deal, we were all together. Now there was a constant need to be entertained. Whenever we are out and run out of things to talk about, everyone retreats to their phone. Now, some of my friends just look at their phones the whole time while we were out. In the end, I think the Smartphone has done more harm than good because it has altered people’s perception of what is worthy of attention and hurt the quality of communication between loved ones. As a result, people spend their time in a terrible way. For this reason, we can say that people spend their time not in an affected way nowadays.

Secondly, why I illustrate my specific concept is that people want to spend their time in their own way to find personal freedom now. They use time as they can enjoy their personal freedom. But personal freedom is not always given good things, and rather most of the time give bitter experience. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I remember when I was in junior high school and I wanted to join the football team. I was small and had never played much football before, but I wanted to try. My father didn’t think I would like football very much, but he said that if I wanted to do it, I could. After three months of football practice and riding the bench I ended up hating football. All the kids picked on me because of my size and I was not very good at tackling or catching. Even though I hated everything about the football team, I was and still am grateful for the experience. If my father hadn’t let me try, I would have blamed him for the way things turned out. It was important for me to make the decision myself so I could take responsibility for my own choices and learn not to blame others. Moreover, this freedom gives people loneliness. It certainly clear to see why people spend their own time in their own way.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons I strongly believe that people now spend their time on personal enjoyment. This is because of the invention of modern technology and for finding personal freedom.